Saturday, July 25, 2009
Busy couple days... Now for an update!
Hello All! I finally feel like I have time to write... It's been a crazy couple days! I'm glad Mike got to update you the morning that Addison was born. I was a "wee-bit" out of it... Addison is doing well. They are all very pleased with her progress in these past couple days. She has gone from a ventilator to a "CPAC" ( not sure if the spelling is correct ) She is only using 35% of the air given through the CPAC. Very good! Her blood gas levels are great and they are very pleased with that as well. Because she was pre-mature she had some anemia problems, the Neonatologist assured me that this is not anything to be alarmed about. He said it happens to most, if not all premies and they need a blood transfusion. They gave her that today. Seems to be going well. All her levels are staying stable even with the transfusion. So, GO ADDIE!!!
She has already made a name for herself in the NICU. She has been trying to pull out all her tubes and get things off of her. She is also moving soooo much! They are very impressed with her movement ( I could've told them she was going to be active ;) ) They all call her "the feisty one" :) She is beautiful and Mike and I are so proud! We thank you so much for your continued prayers! Addie has quiet a road ahead of her and the support is going to help her get through it!
As far as the surgery for me, everything went well. The incision is healing nicly and they are "talking" about sending me home tomorrow. Although, It will be SO hard not to be so close to my little girl. It will be nice to sleep in my own bed and be able to sleep in! I've been told by many that I need to get as much sleep as I can now! So, I'm going to take advantage of it!
Thursday, July 23, 2009
Little addison (dad's words)
Our little Addison was born at 7:54 am this morning .. i herd her cry after she was born.. every thing so far is doing well. just waiting to hear from NICU about her . I am still in the hospital with Sarah and the baby.. Thanks to every body that has been prying for us and coming to visit Sarah ...Will keep every body up to date.
Tuesday, July 21, 2009
Another Ultra Sound and a new IV
The "excitement" for today was that I went down for an ultra sound and they said the fluid in the placenta is a little low and they wanted to put an IV in to try and make that better. They will re-check on Thursday to see if the fluids have helped, If it's not better they are going to make arrangement and meet with each other to see how much longer they can "safely" keep me pregnant and the baby safe or if they need to deliver right away. They have all made me aware that this will definitly be a pre-mature baby and most likely a c-section delivery. Tomorrow will probably be pretty "boring" and I'll have more information come Thursday.
Again, thanks for the prayers! Knowing people are praying and thinking about us is keeping Mike and I going! We will never be able to express how greatful we truly are!
Thanks again!!
Again, thanks for the prayers! Knowing people are praying and thinking about us is keeping Mike and I going! We will never be able to express how greatful we truly are!
Thanks again!!
Monday, July 20, 2009
A little Scare... but, Everything is Fine!
Wow what a day! The weekend is quiet and then Monday comes along and BAM! One thing after another... Every morning after breakfast they nurse will come in and put me on a monitor to check Addison's heart rate and also to make sure there are no contractions. Usually this runs smoothly and there are no problems. The comment's I get are, "My goodness, she is an active one!" Which she is. She has already made a name for herself here... the "feisty one." That will probably be very good later on down the road as it's probably a "given" that Addison will be born pre-mature and she will have some fighting to do. Today, however, was different... the nurse saw on the monitor that Addison was not responding like she "usually" does. She was a little concerned, so, she called Dr. Braun ( Doctor on call ) to see what she wanted to do. They sent me down for an ultra-sound to check fluids and movement. Addison scored and 8 out of 8 (PERFECT!) for this test! YAY! The bring me back up to my room and decide to run the monitor test again to see if they could get a better reading. After being on the monitor for about and hour, they said that the reading was not better and the where going to call Dr. Braun again! (AHH) Dr. Braun sent me down to Labor and Delivery for continuous monitoring to make sure that Addison was doing what she needed to be... the words, "Labor and Delivery" are scary enough in itself... After getting me all hooked up they had the Neonatologist come in to tell me that if we deliver with in the next 2 days, they have to assist Addison with breathing and eating and pretty much "living." This was a little more scary! As Mom, Mike and I sat in the "Labor and Delivery" room waiting to see what was going to happen next we were thinking, maybe we'll be parents TONIGHT.... We were praying for our little girl and hoping that everything was going to be okay. I think Mike pretty much learned how to read the monitor while we were in there :) I think he was trying to stay distracted :) After about an hour of monitoring the nurse comes in and say's "OK, you are free to go back up stairs to your other room, everything looks great!"
Talk about answered prayers...WOW! Everything looks good and they are keeping me in the hospital just to monitor closely. But, they are pleased!
We are so blessed to have so many wonderful people in our lives! We thank you all for keeping up with us and for praying! Prayer works miracles, today is nothing but a testimony to that! Keep the prayers coming!
Talk about answered prayers...WOW! Everything looks good and they are keeping me in the hospital just to monitor closely. But, they are pleased!
We are so blessed to have so many wonderful people in our lives! We thank you all for keeping up with us and for praying! Prayer works miracles, today is nothing but a testimony to that! Keep the prayers coming!
Saturday, July 18, 2009
Cutest Vistors
Love, Joy, Peace, PATIENCE, Kindness, Goodness, Faithfulness, Gentleness, Self-Control
"But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness and self-control." --Galatians 5:22-23
I've been thinking about this verse a lot lately... It's SO hard to have all Fruits at the same time and even harder at this time in my life! Some have grown and the other's I think have run and hidden until all this stress and worry is long gone (who could blame them?) PATIENTS is by far the hardest fruit for me to have all the time, and it's not getting easier with the circumstances... Funny how God works sometimes :) More news to come later after I see all the Doctor's for today...
I've been thinking about this verse a lot lately... It's SO hard to have all Fruits at the same time and even harder at this time in my life! Some have grown and the other's I think have run and hidden until all this stress and worry is long gone (who could blame them?) PATIENTS is by far the hardest fruit for me to have all the time, and it's not getting easier with the circumstances... Funny how God works sometimes :) More news to come later after I see all the Doctor's for today...
Friday, July 17, 2009
My First Post... Scary!
I've never been to big on "blogging" and I really don't think I'll be very good at this, but I thought this would be a good way to keep everyone updated on mine and little Addison's statuses and what all the Doctor's are saying. Plus, maybe if i write everything down that they are telling me, I might remember... hey, it's worth a shot.
I was re-admitted on Wednesday afternoon after getting a blood pressure reading of 160/100 at my Doctor's appointment. They felt like my body had "adjusted" to the med's they had me on and they needed to re-evaluate them and see what worked better. They also wanted to run another protein test and see if it had increased any from my last hospital stay (This measures the amount of protein coming out in the urine. If it's coming out in the urine at an increased level, it's not getting to the placenta and it's not giving little Addison the nurishment that she needs to grow.)
They called in a Nephrologist (dont feel bad, I didn't even know what they where saying until yesterday... I had to ask them the spell it (lol) they study the function of the kidney's and the affects of high blood pressure on the kideney's) the results of the 24 hour protein test came back more elevated then the last time I was in here. They are saying it still isn't high enough the lable me "SEVERE" but it makes them lable me a "MILD" case of preeclampsia. They also did an ultra sound to check on the baby. The high risk pregnancy Doctor, Dr. Love, said that the baby is a bit too small and I need to up the protein I'm eating, he suggested protein shakes (hope that doesn't mean those green chunky shakes that look like they come from out in the backyard, YUCK!)They are still a little worried about my blood pressure and are looking into how to make that stable again. Hopefully they will find something out soon.
We will not know if I'll have to stay until I deliver or if they will send me home on bed rest until after the next protein test, which they plan to start on Sunday. I'll keep you all posted.
Hey, I think this might be a good thing. I think I might enjoy this blogging thing! :)
I was re-admitted on Wednesday afternoon after getting a blood pressure reading of 160/100 at my Doctor's appointment. They felt like my body had "adjusted" to the med's they had me on and they needed to re-evaluate them and see what worked better. They also wanted to run another protein test and see if it had increased any from my last hospital stay (This measures the amount of protein coming out in the urine. If it's coming out in the urine at an increased level, it's not getting to the placenta and it's not giving little Addison the nurishment that she needs to grow.)
They called in a Nephrologist (dont feel bad, I didn't even know what they where saying until yesterday... I had to ask them the spell it (lol) they study the function of the kidney's and the affects of high blood pressure on the kideney's) the results of the 24 hour protein test came back more elevated then the last time I was in here. They are saying it still isn't high enough the lable me "SEVERE" but it makes them lable me a "MILD" case of preeclampsia. They also did an ultra sound to check on the baby. The high risk pregnancy Doctor, Dr. Love, said that the baby is a bit too small and I need to up the protein I'm eating, he suggested protein shakes (hope that doesn't mean those green chunky shakes that look like they come from out in the backyard, YUCK!)They are still a little worried about my blood pressure and are looking into how to make that stable again. Hopefully they will find something out soon.
We will not know if I'll have to stay until I deliver or if they will send me home on bed rest until after the next protein test, which they plan to start on Sunday. I'll keep you all posted.
Hey, I think this might be a good thing. I think I might enjoy this blogging thing! :)
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)

