Saturday, September 12, 2009

Updates...

Hello Everyone it's been forever since I've updated, but things have been a little crazy around here and as much as I sit around with nothing to do, some how I run out of time in the day... INTERESTING. I go to the Orthapedic on Tuesday. Hopefully he will say I can put weight on my leg, which will make things alot easier. The knee is getting better. The only pain i have right now with the knee is the scar. I feel like when I bend it the skin stretches, which is not very comfortable... other than that, it feels pretty good! So, I'm hopeful to be able to put weight on it soon.
Addison is doing really well! She weighs 3 pounds 6.8 ounces. She is up to an ounce of milk, but only receives 10ccs in the bottle the rest still is given to her through the feeding tube. Her feedings are suppose to go over an hour long and if they where to give her everything in a bottle should would not slow down to take it over an hour and they want her little tummy to have enough time to digest, so, they will gradually increase the amounts and decrease the time. Nurses say this is a frustrating part b/c everything seems to be going well but they increase by only the ounce so it gets OLD. But, We are willing to do whatever we can to get out little princess home. And, boy is she a Princess, she already know's it, so they say in the NICU. They said she is spoiled cause everyone likes to take time to hold her. They all think she is cutiest on in the NICU. AWW! They are sweet people!

anyways, sorry for the long time since I've written... it's just been a little crazy and there are SMALL improvements every day with both me and Addison.

Thanks for the prayers! They are still needed and are much appreciated. We dont knw what we would've done with out them through all this. Thanks again!

Michael and Sarah

Wednesday, August 12, 2009

Thinking about my Previous Post...

So... I was thinking about my previous post and seeing what SportsInjury.com says about my break and laughing at the fact that they said it happens with HIGH VELOCITY ACCIDENTS... HA! Maybe I should write them and tell them to add tripping over a breast pump and falling on a carpet floor to that list!

ONLY ME!

Monday, August 10, 2009

Timeline of the past two weeks...

So, here it goes! Let me give you a time line for the past 2 1/2 weeks, then, we'll explain...

  • July 23rd - Emergency C Section (my beautiful daughter is born, 28 weeks)


  • July 26th- Sent Home from Hospital


  • July 29th- Fell at Home, Broke my tibia (large bone in leg/ Shin Bone)


  • July 30th- appointment with Primary Care Physician for knee


  • July 31st- appointment with West End Orthopedic (sent directly from Primary Care) Dr. Bowman sent me to have CT Scan and determined surgery needed to be done.


  • August 5th- Surgery to fix my knee


  • August 7th- Sent home from hospital for knee surgery

What SportsInjuries.com Says EXACTLY happened to my knee:
The tibial plateau is the upper surface of the tibia or shin bone. It is prone to becoming fractured in high velocity accidents such as those associated with skiing, horse riding and certain water sports. Fractures of the tibial plateau are considered quite serious as this upper surface of the bone contains structures which are critical to the knees functioning. Hence fractures of the tibial plateau are often associated with injuries to the anterior cruciate ligament, collateral ligaments (MCl and/or LCL), menisci and articular cartilage. This damage, although repairable, highly disposes the knee joint to the early onset of osteoarthritis, particularly in younger patients.
history of trauma to the knee area followed by swelling and pain in the joint.
The patient may complain of stiffness of the knee
The patient may be unable to weight bear on the injured side.

What the knee looks like after the surgery: (Yes, this is REALLY my knee)




Addison is doing GREAT! She is still breathing on her own and she is growing, slowly but surely. Our Little princess! They found a little infection in her blood that they are now treating, however, they are saying that this is normal and they feel that everything will be fine.





Thank you so much for the continued prayers and support. We are trying to get back onto our feet and we will do the best we can to keep everyone informed.



Saturday, August 1, 2009

A little set back...Atleast, Not Addison this time!



As if our little family hasn't been through enough... Wednesday night I got up from the couch and tripped over the breast pump case and fell on my knee. After about 30 mins of crying and trying to get myself back together I tried and get up and realized something was really wrong! We made an appointment with the primary care physician and got in there on Thursday afternoon. After and examination, a couple xray's, and a couple physicians input they decided that I have a plateau tibula fracture. They sent me to Dr. Bowman, a orthopedic surgeon. He said that "in his 30 years, he has never seen anyone break that part of thier tibula." He sent me to get a CT Scan so that he could get a better look to see if he coule just cast it and it would heal or if he needs to open my knee up and repair it that way. We are waiting for a call. He said that he would call this weekend to that I could have some peace of mind. I just want to get whatever needs to be done, done! The quicker the better! This crutches and wheel chair stuff is really getting old!

As for Addison, she is doing AMAZING! Off the C PAP ( I know I used the wrong name in the last entry... all these medical terms are hard to keep straight ) But, she is on nose prongs which is pushing only room air. Meaning, she is breathing on her own. They have been feeding her 1cc of breast milk every 3 hours. Had some issues with green "bile" in her stomach, telling them that her stomach was maybe not ready for food. However, it seems to be getting better and they haven't pulled any "green stuff" out of her stomach for a while. They are trying today to up her feeding's to 2cc every 3 hours. Keep your fingers crossed that this goes well and her little stomach will be able to tolerate it! She will need this to grow! Everything else seems to be doing really well! She is a trooper! Last night we were there right at bath time! Mom got to hold her while they changed her bed (picture above.)

Our little Peanut! So Cute! After Bath time!

Proud Daddy / My Girl


"I've got sunshine on a cloudy day. When it's cold outside, I've got the month of May. I guess you'd say What can make me feel this way? My girl Talkin' 'bout my girl."


"I've got so much honey the bees envy me. I've got a sweeter song than the birds in the trees. I guess you'd say What can make me feel this way? My girl Talkin' 'bout my girl."


I don't need no money, fortune, or fame. I've got all the riches baby one man can claim. I guess you'd say What can make me feel this way? My girl. Talkin' 'bout my girl."


"I've got sunshine on a cloudy day With my girl. I've even got the month of May With my girl"


Saturday, July 25, 2009

With out the Ventilator!




Busy couple days... Now for an update!


Hello All! I finally feel like I have time to write... It's been a crazy couple days! I'm glad Mike got to update you the morning that Addison was born. I was a "wee-bit" out of it... Addison is doing well. They are all very pleased with her progress in these past couple days. She has gone from a ventilator to a "CPAC" ( not sure if the spelling is correct ) She is only using 35% of the air given through the CPAC. Very good! Her blood gas levels are great and they are very pleased with that as well. Because she was pre-mature she had some anemia problems, the Neonatologist assured me that this is not anything to be alarmed about. He said it happens to most, if not all premies and they need a blood transfusion. They gave her that today. Seems to be going well. All her levels are staying stable even with the transfusion. So, GO ADDIE!!!

She has already made a name for herself in the NICU. She has been trying to pull out all her tubes and get things off of her. She is also moving soooo much! They are very impressed with her movement ( I could've told them she was going to be active ;) ) They all call her "the feisty one" :) She is beautiful and Mike and I are so proud! We thank you so much for your continued prayers! Addie has quiet a road ahead of her and the support is going to help her get through it!
As far as the surgery for me, everything went well. The incision is healing nicly and they are "talking" about sending me home tomorrow. Although, It will be SO hard not to be so close to my little girl. It will be nice to sleep in my own bed and be able to sleep in! I've been told by many that I need to get as much sleep as I can now! So, I'm going to take advantage of it!



Thursday, July 23, 2009

Little addison (dad's words)

Our little Addison was born at 7:54 am this morning .. i herd her cry after she was born.. every thing so far is doing well. just waiting to hear from NICU about her . I am still in the hospital with Sarah and the baby.. Thanks to every body that has been prying for us and coming to visit Sarah ...Will keep every body up to date.

Tuesday, July 21, 2009

Another Ultra Sound and a new IV

The "excitement" for today was that I went down for an ultra sound and they said the fluid in the placenta is a little low and they wanted to put an IV in to try and make that better. They will re-check on Thursday to see if the fluids have helped, If it's not better they are going to make arrangement and meet with each other to see how much longer they can "safely" keep me pregnant and the baby safe or if they need to deliver right away. They have all made me aware that this will definitly be a pre-mature baby and most likely a c-section delivery. Tomorrow will probably be pretty "boring" and I'll have more information come Thursday.

Again, thanks for the prayers! Knowing people are praying and thinking about us is keeping Mike and I going! We will never be able to express how greatful we truly are!

Thanks again!!

Monday, July 20, 2009

A little Scare... but, Everything is Fine!

Wow what a day! The weekend is quiet and then Monday comes along and BAM! One thing after another... Every morning after breakfast they nurse will come in and put me on a monitor to check Addison's heart rate and also to make sure there are no contractions. Usually this runs smoothly and there are no problems. The comment's I get are, "My goodness, she is an active one!" Which she is. She has already made a name for herself here... the "feisty one." That will probably be very good later on down the road as it's probably a "given" that Addison will be born pre-mature and she will have some fighting to do. Today, however, was different... the nurse saw on the monitor that Addison was not responding like she "usually" does. She was a little concerned, so, she called Dr. Braun ( Doctor on call ) to see what she wanted to do. They sent me down for an ultra-sound to check fluids and movement. Addison scored and 8 out of 8 (PERFECT!) for this test! YAY! The bring me back up to my room and decide to run the monitor test again to see if they could get a better reading. After being on the monitor for about and hour, they said that the reading was not better and the where going to call Dr. Braun again! (AHH) Dr. Braun sent me down to Labor and Delivery for continuous monitoring to make sure that Addison was doing what she needed to be... the words, "Labor and Delivery" are scary enough in itself... After getting me all hooked up they had the Neonatologist come in to tell me that if we deliver with in the next 2 days, they have to assist Addison with breathing and eating and pretty much "living." This was a little more scary! As Mom, Mike and I sat in the "Labor and Delivery" room waiting to see what was going to happen next we were thinking, maybe we'll be parents TONIGHT.... We were praying for our little girl and hoping that everything was going to be okay. I think Mike pretty much learned how to read the monitor while we were in there :) I think he was trying to stay distracted :) After about an hour of monitoring the nurse comes in and say's "OK, you are free to go back up stairs to your other room, everything looks great!"
Talk about answered prayers...WOW! Everything looks good and they are keeping me in the hospital just to monitor closely. But, they are pleased!

We are so blessed to have so many wonderful people in our lives! We thank you all for keeping up with us and for praying! Prayer works miracles, today is nothing but a testimony to that! Keep the prayers coming!

Saturday, July 18, 2009

Cutest Vistors

This boy definitely keeps me smiling! :) To cute! How could you not smile when he looks at you with that face... AWW!!!!! Love him sooo much!

Love, Joy, Peace, PATIENCE, Kindness, Goodness, Faithfulness, Gentleness, Self-Control

"But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness and self-control." --Galatians 5:22-23

I've been thinking about this verse a lot lately... It's SO hard to have all Fruits at the same time and even harder at this time in my life! Some have grown and the other's I think have run and hidden until all this stress and worry is long gone (who could blame them?) PATIENTS is by far the hardest fruit for me to have all the time, and it's not getting easier with the circumstances... Funny how God works sometimes :) More news to come later after I see all the Doctor's for today...

Friday, July 17, 2009

My First Post... Scary!

I've never been to big on "blogging" and I really don't think I'll be very good at this, but I thought this would be a good way to keep everyone updated on mine and little Addison's statuses and what all the Doctor's are saying. Plus, maybe if i write everything down that they are telling me, I might remember... hey, it's worth a shot.
I was re-admitted on Wednesday afternoon after getting a blood pressure reading of 160/100 at my Doctor's appointment. They felt like my body had "adjusted" to the med's they had me on and they needed to re-evaluate them and see what worked better. They also wanted to run another protein test and see if it had increased any from my last hospital stay (This measures the amount of protein coming out in the urine. If it's coming out in the urine at an increased level, it's not getting to the placenta and it's not giving little Addison the nurishment that she needs to grow.)
They called in a Nephrologist (dont feel bad, I didn't even know what they where saying until yesterday... I had to ask them the spell it (lol) they study the function of the kidney's and the affects of high blood pressure on the kideney's) the results of the 24 hour protein test came back more elevated then the last time I was in here. They are saying it still isn't high enough the lable me "SEVERE" but it makes them lable me a "MILD" case of preeclampsia. They also did an ultra sound to check on the baby. The high risk pregnancy Doctor, Dr. Love, said that the baby is a bit too small and I need to up the protein I'm eating, he suggested protein shakes (hope that doesn't mean those green chunky shakes that look like they come from out in the backyard, YUCK!)They are still a little worried about my blood pressure and are looking into how to make that stable again. Hopefully they will find something out soon.
We will not know if I'll have to stay until I deliver or if they will send me home on bed rest until after the next protein test, which they plan to start on Sunday. I'll keep you all posted.
Hey, I think this might be a good thing. I think I might enjoy this blogging thing! :)